Why I Write: Don’t Worry I Feel Better Now.

I found a few pages written in a workshop from before Xmas I posed the question ”Why do I Write?” as a free writing exercise I seem to remember Karen Little doing this and coming up with something much more poem like than mine but since this was on a few loose pages of coloured paper I thought I would type them up and post them. With the caveat that it was before Xmas in the dark time. Advice suggestions welcome, this is more of a disjointed rant as it is but I think as writers we should question our motives.

Why Do I Write?

I write because no one sees the terror in my eyes and the only way I make it known is by inhaling wine and falling or piles of paper raining ink stains. I write because I want men to fall in love with me. I write fantastical love poetry. It has cost me several men. I write because I am too honest. I write because I bore myself so fuck knows how other people feel when I talk. I write because poetry is the one thing I feel comes naturally. I have no mastery I will be an apprentice for life. But words unspool out so simply into free verse that I cannot stop them. I am known to grab a pen and notebook when I am near insensible with drink or lack of sleep and scrawl a whole poem out of my stupor. That is the freest time. I write because I am the only person stopping myself. I write because it feels raw. I write because I know my subconscious so well, I scream in my dreams with unspoken arguments.

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Rants, Scrawls, Workshop Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Why I Write: Don’t Worry I Feel Better Now.

  1. martinvosperwrites says:

    Anna, that’s so good, so honest – and neither in the least disjointed nor rant! It always amazes me what comes out of workshop free-writing exercises. Knowing that there’s no compulsion to share with anyone can be incredibly liberating and revealing. I appreciate you sharing this – it’s inspired me to wade through my own reams of free-writing and see if there are any similar gems lurking.

Leave a comment