Napowrimo Day two

Today’s prompt was a lie poem http://www.napowrimo.net/2013/04/two-for-the-show/  and I kept having Adrian Mitchell’s tell me lies about Vietnam http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FmMCObgu_jc echoing in my head, what a poem. The kind of poem we need now more than ever right? Did I write that poem, no. You could call this ”tell me lies about my kitchen in Whalley Range” but it is far far less noble a poem. 

 

I have been lying to myself about the mouse

The one that scuttles out from under the fridge

Pretend it’s a sleep deprived hallucination

There is no rapid patter, no oil slick body

The box of poison is still next to his exit

It assured me of its deliciousness although

I must admit I did not test this claim

And later in the wall behind my bed

When there is a scratching claim my eardrums

Have mistaken rain or a confused pigeon against glass

Push back history lessons, literary allusions in trenches

To chewed ears and feet left out in the air.

 

 

 

About Trio

This blog is for the trio of people behind Stirred to express the directions their work is taking. Stirred is a women's poetry night where women and men are encouraged to read pro-women poetry. The thinking behind this night originated with Anna Percy, who hosts the night. Her co-host Rebecca Audra Smith and the designer of posters and general photographer Sara Ellis complete the trio. Anna Percy's poetry is usually concerned with love, loss, losing your mind, the natural world and the surreal. She performs regularly in both Manchester and Norwich. She voluntarily runs workshops and has been a performer of racy feminist poetry for some years. Rebecca Audra Smith is also a regular performer on Manchester's poetry scene. Her poetry is often described as sensual, it's subjects are the depths of our relationship to ourselves and other people. Her work is an introspective look at how people interact with the world. www.beccaaudra.wordpress.com Sara Ellis studies a photography BA and is the designer of Stirred's image and official photographer. Her work utilises elements of street photography while demonstrating a humour and curiosity about our surroundings, both rural and urban, that brings many layers to her images. www.thenorthside.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Napowrimo Day two

  1. beccaaudra says:

    Loved this one! mix of the ridiculous and the tragic. ‘I did not test this claim.’ Great note.

  2. Andy Sewina says:

    Very good! I enjoyed reading this – I don’t like the idea of chewed ears and feet left out in the air, I think I’d be under the covers.
    My Day Three is here

Leave a Reply

