DAY THREE NAPOWRIMO: not a sea shanty but sea like.

Day three’s prompt is a sea shanty http://www.napowrimo.net/2013/04/day-3/  I haven;t done that but have done this.

 

Sea Worthy

 

I cannot carry my love for you across the ocean

Or the right drugs

Or row unevenly on a boat I have constructed in my living room

Out of sturdy hard backs woven together

with the  useless finery of my piles of silk scarves

The mast of coathangers and the silly candy striped sheet of mine for a sail

The boat I would carry balanced impossibly on the panniers of my clunking racer

to the canals or the Mersey head where the big ships go

Follow them all the way to your continent and

avoid the cost of flights both monetary and environmental

So that I could give you something more than digital

Fool myself I know the old sailors trick of navigating the stars

That I would not get sidetracked by flickering satellites

Adrift, start dismantling the boat for reading material .

About Trio

This blog is for the trio of people behind Stirred to express the directions their work is taking. Stirred is a women's poetry night where women and men are encouraged to read pro-women poetry. The thinking behind this night originated with Anna Percy, who hosts the night. Her co-host Rebecca Audra Smith and the designer of posters and general photographer Sara Ellis complete the trio. Anna Percy's poetry is usually concerned with love, loss, losing your mind, the natural world and the surreal. She performs regularly in both Manchester and Norwich. She voluntarily runs workshops and has been a performer of racy feminist poetry for some years. Rebecca Audra Smith is also a regular performer on Manchester's poetry scene. Her poetry is often described as sensual, it's subjects are the depths of our relationship to ourselves and other people. Her work is an introspective look at how people interact with the world. www.beccaaudra.wordpress.com Sara Ellis studies a photography BA and is the designer of Stirred's image and official photographer. Her work utilises elements of street photography while demonstrating a humour and curiosity about our surroundings, both rural and urban, that brings many layers to her images. www.thenorthside.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DAY THREE NAPOWRIMO: not a sea shanty but sea like.

  1. Oh, this is so whimsical…

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo: Day 6 | beccaaudra

  3. Reblogged this on Detritus & Miscellany and commented:
    Well I tried to reblog this before, but something else ended up on my page instead. This is a wonderful poem by a wonderful friend.

  4. I’ve read this several times now and love it more each time. The images are exceptionally vivid in my mind, and I’ve wanted to make a watercolour drawing based on it, partly to use my still new paint set but mainly because the water based medium seems appropriate.

Leave a Reply

