Napowrimo trying to stay on the equine.

I need to take the advice that was a line in the play I went to see at the weekend ”stop writing and start wronging” and stop censoring myself before I post. I saw this series of photographs in the guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/gallery/2013/apr/14/chernobyl-ghost-town-in-pictures#/?picture=407166751&index=11  and then wrote this.

Chernobyl

The paper today shows the abandoned city of Pripyat

I was born the day the radiation hit the uk

When scores of live stock were slaughtered

And my mother forbade those who could from eating the rhubarb

Something I never thought of later with a raw purple umbrella ended stalk

And a small pot of granulated sugar I dipped it in

The garden held no terrors then four years on

These public spaces in Pripyat abound with peeling paint

Uninhabited, the art of gormless politicans piled up remains eerily unmarked

things have been stolen of course people brave radiation for that, the desperate do

The things that grow there are working their roots into foundations

Performing their own slow demolition and still the books lie open

Unread in their palace of culture, I hope there were books where they were evacuated

I have lived a life or relative safety share an anniversary that will

Continue to be marked until the Geiger counters go.

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

