Poems From Today’s Workshop At Creative Cafe

Today I ran a workshop focusing on cut ups and Centos a Cento is formed entirely from other poems: http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/text/poetic-form-cento  I used poems by some glorious Manchester and other poets Sarah Pritchard, my poetry partner Becca Audra Smith, Cheryl Martin, Adam Lowe  and myself alongside Ginsberg, Diane Di Prima and Bishop (will check later if I missed anyone)

Here is the Cento:

I’m transfixed by the gravity of your bones

you ruined my appetite

scrap soon, scrap soon

attention to her body made ornament

a futuristic bath versus terraced times

whose gemstones teach

of lost door keys, the hour badly spent

the narrowest canyons have their pictographs

I include below some of my creations. After doing a pure Cento I started cutting up the poem lines we had used into single words and with the help of spray mount and putting up with very sticky hands (I will take some photos when I have good light) I made the two poems below:

The tea mark left my master

electricity… wherever the flowers with

laddered attributes rustle its evident

hear the language of the Pomegranate

big spill over the absence of lves

thru voice a fresh sleeping love flows

I knife the peaks all of

dreaming even spoons speed hard

losing bombs once I lied

and the room valleys out

the feet gesture taking stars

eating root creating a river over

most tights how high her act

still legs takes mornings verdant

not enough world and guts

my joking alters like a skin birdsong

will see graffiti and someone

my door mouthed the losing

2nd poem

Fighting disaster marked like crying

inspired petals litany, nudity

lying lovely deep landscape long

beautiful gravity by oar

accept rusted lovely empty cities

bowl humming watch realms

miss by kayak hill badly, hard

moon

keys

forget

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

