Napowrimo Early Prompt

So because of the Napowrimo site being American the first day’s prompt isn’t up yet but they did put up an early one yesterday: http://www.napowrimo.net/one-week-countdown-day-1/ I spent a lot of my childhood on farms and in the countryside because of where my family lived and being from Norfolk, lots of school trips involved farms and in late childhood I moved into the countryside. This is a quick one and may edit and repost later but here we go first poem.

I guess its too late to live on a farm

and I could never get the hang of mornings anyway

I imagine I’d resent the cows despite their long lashed eyes

the ache of waking at dawn and that sky change

the scent of cowsheds makes me nostalgic

I think about keeping chickens

remember bantams savaged by the dog in our garden

how simply my mother said ‘’she thought they were her dinner’’

I have grown carrots from seed I know my green thumb

paler than my mother’s who can revive sticks to blooming

is still there somewhere under this urban anxiety

my childhood is full of green and farms

how sweet blackberries are when you pluck them from between thorns

the sense of the cleanness of mud in the country

how hedgerows and fields smell in that lush fullness of summer

how cow parsley unasked for grows, bows its head and spreads its delicate smell

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

