Napowrimo Day Five Prompt Cutting Up Emily Dickinson

I really enjoyed this prompt as I love messing about with existing text. I do enjoy Emily Dickinson’s work particularly for her brevity which in fact made this prompt harder. I’d like to try this technique with a longer and less (to me) interesting poem. There may be much longer ones I could have found but I didn’t want to spend more time finding a poem than writing today. Prompt is here: http://www.napowrimo.net/day-five-2/ and the poem I used was here: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/174975

In my Brain

I felt in my Brain a dreading

seemed sense was breaking,

beating till I thought my mind was going

I heard a creak across my head

those same boots of lead then space

as all my heavens and havens crumble

my being, but an ear, turned to silence,

I am some strange wrecked, solitary plank

reason broke dropped down and down

I hit the world, at every plunge and splintered

I finished knowing nothing

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Napowrimo Day Five Prompt Cutting Up Emily Dickinson

  1. C.C. says:

    Beautifully ‘cut up’ poem 🙂

Leave a Reply

