Monday’s Bonus Flim Night Poem

I will be attempting to write another poem today but realised I haven’t posted Monday’s poem. Jasmine who is part of Stirred and Jack together run Flim night where poets and comedians etc retell a film often diverting from the source material. I have worked on a process while attending these nights of making a sculpted poem from interviews with female actors in the films. This first came about because myself and Becca did a slot for The Shining event and it was my attempt to give back Wendy’s character a voice. Last month’s film was  Mean Girls and I focused on Lindsay Lohan you can find The Rise and Fall of Lindsay Lohan here: https://mostlynocturnalscribbler.wordpress.com/2015/03/10/504/

The technique involves finding an article where the actor discusses the film, isolating that text and then cutting words out in order to make a prose poem. Here was Monday’s effort and a link to the article I took the text from:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/03/19/kate-winslet-eternal-sunshine-of-the-spotless-mind_n_4989538.html

There’s at least one person not surprised “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” is 10 years old: Kate Winslet.

I can believe it’s 10 years. I absolutely can. I have incredible memories of ‘Eternal Sunshine.’ That was what took me to New York in the first place. I went to New York and didn’t leave for nine years. It occupied the beginning of a really big chapter in my life. I always remember it very fondly.it opened people’s eyes to other sides of myself ‘Eternal Sunshine expands in all kinds of different directions. I am British, there’s this sort of strange metaphorical red carpet that is rolled out for us People think that we fall asleep with volumes of Shakespeare by our bed. That isn’t me at all. I think ‘Eternal Sunshine’ smashed through any preconceived notions about who I actually am. None of us really thought that was going to happen. We had no idea what it was going to be like. I had faith that it would be something very special, but I didn’t know.

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

