In Conversation Napowrimo Prompt

Today’s poem is a conversation piece. I was talking the other day about how I was feeling really good about writing during a workshop things were flowing I was feeling confident and I was feeling like I had quelled that voice in my head which says I can;t or shouldn’t write. Sadly that voice has crept back in and nearly foiled me yesterday so today I slay the beast by bringing it out in a poem.

Today’s prompt was to write a dialogue or conversation poem so I have written a poem about myself talking myself into/out of writing a poem.

In conversation with myself before starting a poem

you’ve written lots of poems you wrote a good one yesterday the last line was great

it was hackneyed you are always banging on about ghosts and dreams everyone hates that

you are doing some really interesting things with rhythms these days keep that thing going

you can’t do rhyme schemes and everyone knows it this is just a cop out

small is beautiful some people adore cameo poems

you couldn’t even write a sonnet length poem yesterday and its not like you follow the rules

poets have recurring themes its ok to rhapsodise about starlight and cowparsley in several pieces

It is like you just write the same stunted incoherent poem again and again what’s the point?

Art doesn’t have to make sense it just has to evoke enjoy where the poem take you

why do you have to be so bloody obscure?

just keep writing not every poem works each one is part of the process

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

