Poem From Day Fifteen Prompt

Today’s poem was from this prompt where you address part of the poem: http://www.napowrimo.net/day-fifteen/

dear poem last night I dyed my fringe blue I look like a mermaid

but had to don a cling film hairband to do it, have a clean forehead

dear poem I haven’t written about daffodils or death this month

there is still an allocation for both, daffodils have been on time this year

dear poem I am frustrated with wordpress and can’t manipulate your lines

this blog is intolerant of experimental poetry and I have not the skills to combat it

dear poem I only made it out of the house once today and I noticed how light

it was at that late hour and how white and uncrumpled the blossom was

dear poem this spring has come later than last year after a muddled winter

which confused the leaves on the trees the grubby dappled foxes and myself

dear poem I am sad that I have not found a new novel to draw me in so utterly

I wake with the book near my hand and as I open my eyes I return to the page

dear poem you were written with my heavy handed typing on the laptop

not my preferred medium of coloured ink and a fountain pen today was not an ink day

dear poem I am marking the run up to my twenty ninth birthday by dressing like a cartoon

last Saturday I was Minnie mouse in a polka dot dress, two buns for ears and red lipstick

dear poem I am not going to berate you for being frivolous or lacking assonance

this poem is a thunder storm its lightning strike will break the high pressure of doubt

dear poem I will not expect too much you are a first draft I should be kind to you

I will be as kind to you as kind as I am in workshops with others newly formed poems

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poem From Day Fifteen Prompt

  1. Love it Anna.
    I find that
    .
    if I want to break, and to hold it
    a couplet
    .
    or stanza
    .
    I hit the full stop
    . like this (see above)
    .
    and head on down again.

Leave a Reply

