Feminists on Bikes

After the day’s dressing gown in the street embarrassment

as the carpet fitter whacked the fire alarm set it off and

I being too sensitive to noise was forced to leave dressed as I was

still mortified by not being properly dressed in my own house

when I live alone that they might not realise I am working, writing,

typing in this fluffy pink monstrosity of a garment

that I work cross legged on a sofa or on the floor over a laptop

a note book scratching, over the ancient type writer

later I dressed for the theatre in a dress spattered with tiny daisies

and lycra so I could cycle to contact theatre through Alexandra park

I attempted to reconstruct the glass conservatory exploded by suffragettes

remarked how much more bearable wind is when filtered through trees

thought that this moment while the uncertain weather held

and my beautiful cloudy sky framed bike didn’t get a puncture

was a small offering of how I hoped life could be.

I went to a sold out show about body hair and feminism

drank cheap merlot with witty wise women with large hearts

and fierce politics cycled back through the park with one of them

recounted how we had come off bikes and got back on

wanted to tell her that’s the trick of everything take a spill and cycle onwards

I whooped ‘’I love this park at night look at the glorious lake ripples’’

and we were not afraid together.

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

