Today’s Slam Poem From Word Cup

You Are More

You are more than the space between your thighs

you are more than the physical mass you currently occupy

you are more than numbers, calories, tape measures, scales,

charts, clothes labels, BM fucking I,

you are more than every insult you have memorised about

your face, hair, skin, legs, arse, breasts

you are more than the latest hatefilled buzzword

cankles, muffin top, saddle bags,

you are more than the body parts you mentally cleave off

as in a butcher’s shop ranking them as too fatty too lean

or past their sell by date your neurosis

wrapping them in cling film starting the rot

you are more than these same disjointed body parts

accessorising advertising breasts with beer with perfume with ice cream

and a wet always open empty mouth and never an eye

to stare accusing just packaged women’s flesh processed for consumption

you are more than a world that considers disfiguring women with acid

as the worst punishment they can cook up for saying no

If you think this doesn’t happen in the UK google Katie Piper

you are more than the one stitch facelift

string your face up every eighteen months

no yawning smiling or emoting during recovery

you are more than getting a fucking chemical burn on your breast

because that mouselike fur under your arm makes you feel like an animal

you are more than changing the colour of your skin with fake tan or lightening creams

that may be carcinogenic

you are more than deodorant which promises to lighten your arm pits

you are more Hollywood’s rolling merkin trade because all actresses wax or shave

you are more you are more than designer vaginas and defenders of FGM

you are more than googling ‘’fat mons pubis’’

you are wit and kindness you are the recipe you carry in your head

in your head for scones and all the things you make and grow with your hands

you are your capacity to love breathe and reason.

radical self love or why I don’t tell you I feel bad about my body

that black and shimmer dress you all thought I looked amazing in last night

I tried it on last week and took it off before I went out

decided it accentuated all the parts of my body that are wrong

according to the magazines I don’t read and the adverts I can’t help

but see  felt it made my body wrong changed it for something less clinging

I have a full length mirror this is important I know exactly what I look like

I know before anyone else calls me a fat cunt or a fat slut or a fat slag

I know exactly much of legs and breasts are showing I bend and turn

I know what I look like from all angles and tell myself that I am good enough

I put it on and told the mirror that my waist to hip ratio puts Jessica Rabbit to shame

that in platforms and fishnets my legs are astonishing look at my glorious knees

I didn’t tell you about the dresses failed first outing because I don’t want to

add to all that fucking noise about how my body is wrong, your body is wrong

any body that is strong and existing just the way it knows how is wrong

you are beautiful and giving and funny and your brain your talent

your poetry is worth so much more than worrying about dimensions of flesh

I have seen too many powerful women clutching at their body in front of me

hoping they could diminish themselves I never wanted you to think I do that too

I never tell you about how hard it is to leave the house some days

how I am late because I changed my clothes and make up a dozen times

till I felt like I was acceptable like this body at this size and height

and this skin is acceptable with its veins and its eczema rashes and spots and blemishes

That the silk scarf hides a flare up on my neck and that without make up I avoid mirrors

I know the mirror self lies to me when I look at it for too long

I see decay that isn’t there my face starts becoming strange

And I have to go do something with my hands to remind myself of who I am

I walk tall with my back straight because I want everyone who sees me to know

I think this body is alright this body is gorgeous this body is beautiful

I want all the other women I see in the street to feel that way too and

that dress that didn’t make it out of the house last week is my new favourite

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

