More Arran Poems

I have returned home and typed up poems from my notebook more to follow

Things I had Forgotten:

The alarming geometry of gorse

Poisonous beauty of foxgloves

How to walk across streams

My feet know how to negotiate stones

That sheep give no fucks

The smell of a foison of ferns

Childhood scent of getting lost

And not caring

How the oyster catchers scream

How jagged the sea becomes in wind

How delicious I find the smell of seaweed

how much I love to roll and loll on grass

how I sniff in all the deep green scents

of grass gorse fern and trees

how to walk in absolute dark

my night vision returned faultless

linked arms I walked all three of back

Lochranza Distillery

I tried to walk back up the way we came

separately, you charging ahead

this treacherous path

my incredulous reaction

to your lack of care your laughter

for my bog soaked twisted ankle

was when I knew I wasn’t

really in love with you

I was still considering the idea

of not living alone

in the years that have passed

I have not cleared a path

through the woods

to my heart for another

I got as far as the ferns

their rich smell heavy

with the secret thoughts

I had wandering alone as a child

the mouse ornament I hid then

recovered from a hole in a tree

the carved fur smeared with dirt

The slugs were out a warning

as I headed for the hills

in search of waterfalls and eagles

the rain came down

As it took my sight

It taught me that I cannot

walk into our past

last time I saw you

there was a calmer air

you were kinder and almost

asked to go to bed with me

I knew you were after comfort

of a familiar body in sleep

I thank you for all the poems you gave me

we cannot walk back

and make either of us

easier to love.

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

