Napowrimo Day 2

Apparently I have been doing Napowrimo for five years at least. The first day’s prompt of Lune was the kind I dislike form based and no direction.

Today’s was difficult because it mentioned a family portrait. I wasn’t going to do it at all. So this got dredged up and I am unsure of it.

Prompt is here if people want it: http://www.napowrimo.net/day-two-3/

 

The man behind the camera has been dead for twenty four years

he hid in a flash anxious of his teeth that legacy I have had rearranged

I was used to him being missing in photographs associated the lens

with his eyes, our eyes with the dark ring around the iris

 

I can count the photographs I have that he is in on my hands

can still howl over the loss of one clumsily developed

on a stage as a young man in a ruff no one knew the play

I have framed hopeless blurred marred images

 

in the hospice he wouldn’t look at all the times he windowed us

how the light had shone on the sea and our hair

images made to capture our rate of growth turned to taunt

 

my mother asked the undertaker to take a coffin shot

shutter unavoidable, how unforgiving the light

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Napowrimo, Scrawls. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

