Fear Before the Storm

So I have already written three poems about the EU referendum here is the first written during the women beats Stirred Poetry workshop. I include the exercise below.

  1. Free Writing from a line from Janine Pommy Vega ‘’I could travel around the world/sending you postcards’’ http://www.jhwriter.com/?p=6826

 

And the poem:

After a Line from the late great Janine Pommy Vega

I could travel around the world/sending you postcards

 

21st June 2016

I’d lose all my stamps or royal mail would lose the cards or a man drunk from the closing down on the corner (the king’s head there’s always a king’s head) would piss on all my missives and my want of you would all be wasted I could write you postcards frommy home city the ironic crap tourism ones from Norwich with puppet man who still lives and dances with his balding hand puppets and marionettes with a tape deck I could send you postcards from Manchester I would make my own show you the beautiful graffiti Bowie with a secret in the northern quarter the remain posters in the windows how the whole area was thronged by vote labour signs before the general election and I felt hope today I am worried I will struggle to send you postcards from anywhere but England after tomorrow there will be no more postcards shaped like the Eiffel Tower the Leaning Tower of Pisa and I will not be able to drink champagne kir royals eat reblochon and the borders will all require vias and I could no longer decide to pick up a copy of the rosetta stone and live among the light and eat red peaches in the Loire Valley.

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

