Billie Holiday Workhop 2nd Poem

You can find the full workshop here:  https://stirredpoetry.wordpress.com/2015/09/05/billie-holiday-workshop-1-you-could-be-my-lover/ and write your own Billie Holiday poems.

This is a poem I got from the free writing exercise.

Fell into my Head

There were broken tea cups on the carpet

clumsy visions of someone else’s tea party

we had used them for something comparable

in colour though stronger it bit our throats

brought forth those neon spiky aching words

as they smashed the painted swallows I swore

they flew through the window rustling curtains

into the summer night near an apricot moon

to soar among the flash fast shooting stars

when held you always tell me I smell of roses

perfume covers the unwashed don’t care hair

without success smother sweat with rose scent

push back dirty strands with bedaisied sunglasses

sweep tea cup pieces find joy in a rainy summer

drink rose lemonade in hope of a rosy outlook

of a rose-like nature softer never forgetting my thorns

grow deep roots and can take a hard pruning

regrow my blooms next summer requires sunglasses

About Quad

The Stirred quad is formed of Rebecca Audra Smith, Anna Percy, Jasmine Chatfield and Lenni Sanders.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment